Swiss Film Award voting system 


The Federal Department of Home Affairs (FDHA) appoints a five-person jury, all of whom are members of the Swiss Film Academy. It is their responsibility to compile a shortlist of nominees from recommendations submitted by the 280 members of the Swiss Film Academy. The official announcement of the nominees (“Nominations Night”) is made in January during the Solothurn Film Festival.  From then until the end of February, voting members  of the Swiss Film Academy will vote for their preferred nominees in each of the 11 categories of the Swiss Film Award.


Furthermore, the nomination committee recommends individuals to the Federal Office of Culture for the Special Academy Award, presented in recognition of outstanding technical or artistic achievement, and for the Honorary Award, for her or his oeuvre.

Federal Office of Culture 


Since 2012 and the enactment of the Federal Message on Culture, the Swiss Film Award has been one of the Federal Awards which are granted to the creative industries by the Federal Office of Culture. The award is an official recognition of the work of the Swiss Film industry and seeks to raise the national and international profile of Swiss film-making.

Partners and sponsors


The official Swiss Film Award ceremony is organised by the Federal Office of Culture in partnership with SRG SSR and the Association “Quartz” Genève Zürich, Swiss Films, the Swiss Film Academy and the Solothurn Film Festival. The company from Basel is responsible for the project management of the awards ceremony.